lifetime piling up

I’d like it to be known here and now that going to the movies by yourself is arguably the best way to enjoy a film. For too long people have waited until the DVD release of a movie because they couldn’t find anyone to see it with in a theater. There’s nothing stopping you from going, so just go! People don’t talk during movies anyway (unless you’re riffing on it) so going alone is the most logical, and relaxing choice. Of course I’m speaking from the viewpoint of someone who is single, so if you are in a relationship I would say that not going to the movies without your significant other is either means that you’re a dick or she’s just not that into Quentin Tarantino (and vice versa). But I digress. The popular mentality that going to the movies alone implies that you are alone and pathetic and nobody loves you.

Not true.

Going out and doing things alone means you get to do whatever you want to do. You don’t have to negotiate a plan to go out, you don’t have to wait around for someone, and you can do whatever you want for as long as you want. And yes, you will get barraged with happy couples shopping and holding hands and such, so good for them. But you are free! And that’s an awesome feeling? Isnt’ it???

On a side note, having spent a lot of time in the bookstore lately, I have rarely come across couples shopping for books. Most couples are shopping for clothes in the mall adjacent from Borders, but I always see a lot of  people shop for books by themselves. I can’t imagine being self conscious about my book choices. If the guy/girl you are wooing doesn’t like your choice in books then that is their problem. But on the other hand, if I saw my significant other buying a chick lit (known to most men as garbage) then yes, I’d probably question her taste in literature. But only because I’m an asshole.*

The acceptance of seeing movies alone came about earlier today, when I felt the urge to see Inglorious Basterds. So far, two individuals who said they would see it with me flaked out (or have been flaky). So I decided that I wasn’t going to sit around and sacrifice a good time and feel like a tool. The movie was very, very strange. But like all things QT, it was well written and entertaining. And the Nazis depicted in the movies where either fucking assholes or absolutely hilarious assholes. But above all, I wish I could’ve grown up to be “The Bear Jew”, minus the Boston accent.

ANYWAY, I guess what I’m trying to say is that while attempting to turn over a new leaf and have a different attitude towards the opposite sex (and life in general), I have at the same time become somewhat of a boob. And being aware of this has not made me very happy. Maybe I’m just not getting involved with the right women, but that’s a theory I’ve had for a while. But lately it feels more and more like there’s always a catch or it’s too good to be true. The point is that I have absolutely no idea what they want from me. I don’t know how they want me to act. I don’t know if they think I’m actually funny. I don’t know if they take me seriously or not. All I can do is be myself and that’s that. And if that’s not good enough, then I guess I’ll be going to the movies alone indefinitely. And I have no problem with that.

Or I could be overreacting to nothing, as usual. God damn it.

*Actually, no. Chick lit is for women who either don’t like reading or have unrealistic expectations when it comes to relationships and life. And I’m saying this because most of the girls I’ve dated who have read these kinds of books were also incredibly patronizing toward my interests.

Leave a comment

Filed under random

Leave a Reply

