best of 2008

Every December(ish) since 2003, I make and hand out a mix CD of my favorite songs of the year. It’s turned into an eclectic mix of songs over time, mainly because I’ve allowed rap and electronica into my life. I’m burning the master CD now, so here is what made the final cut for “Best of 2008”:

The Witch – Clinic

Modern Guilt – Beck

Dancing Choose – TV on the Radio

Sex on Fire – Kings of Leon

Sequestered In Memphis – The Hold Steady

Becky – Be Your Own Pet

The Most Beautiful Girl (in the Room) – Flight of the Conchords

L.E.S. Artistes – Santogold

Graveyard Girl – M83

Blind – Hercules and Love Affair

Why Do You Let Me Stay Here? – She & Him

On the Edge of a Cliff – The Streets

White Winter Hymnal – Fleet Foxes

Walcott – Vampire Weekend

Cath… – Death Cab for Cutie

Heart of Chambers – Beach House

Machine Gun – Portishead

On the Water – The Walkmen

Souled Out!!! – Conor Oberst

*Bonus Holiday Song!* Can I Interest You in Hannukah? – Stephen Colbert and Jon Stewart

You can only fit so much on a disc, so I regret not including “Got Money” by Lil’ Wayne. Although I (and Jess) think it’s arguably the best rap song of the year, it really didn’t fit with the flow with the rest of the mix. 

And to commemorate the return of my favorite video game series, I chose this as the album cover:

picture1

Childish? Yes. But it’ll probably be the last time I can do something silly.

2009 looks promising, with albums from Morrissey, Metric, Junior Boys, and (if there is a just and loving God) Dr. Dre on the horizon. I’m always looking for new music so feel free to recommend anything… even though you won’t. Nobody comments on this shit.

Anyway, I’ll be handing this out to my friends in a week or two. If you’re not sure that you are my friend, get in touch and I will make one for you.

3 Comments

Filed under music, phoning it in

3 responses to “best of 2008

  1. Good mix of songs. “On the Water” is an amazing song. And I love the Mega Man art too!

  2. I wish I had friends that handed out cd’s like this! Great idea and a great mix.
    I love the Santogold, Flight of The Conchords, Vampire Weekend, Fleet Foxes Death Cab and Kings of Leon tracks too. Some of the rest I don’t know, but will be checking them out!

  3. Whilst I agree that it is hard to top the lyrical prowess of lil Wayne, whose street poetry has never ascended to such heights as he has attained with ‘Got Money’, if you are looking for a recommendation for some intelligent hiphop (on the flimsy supposition that you can tear yourself away from such august thoughts as:

    So rolex watch this
    I do it 4 5 6 my click
    Clack goes the black hoe pimp
    And just like it I blow that shit
    Cause bitch I’m the bomb like
    Tick tick
    Yeah!!
    )

    might I suggest checking out UK rapper Jehst’s album Falling Down. He may not ‘make it rain on dem hoes’ in quite a torrential manner as lil Wayne, but he does produce the odd shower.

Leave a Reply

