it’s cool to know nothing

Jess brought up a very good point yesterday. She and another friend were talking about me being in Kutztown on Friday, to which the other friend replied, “For someone who hates Kutztown so much, he sure does spend a lot time there.” 

What he said was partially true. And while I stand behind every sentiment I have expressed towards Kutztown/Pennsylvania in previous blog entries (i.e. I want it to burn), I have made an exception for parties. It’s very cut and dry when you think about it. With being jobless and bored all the time, I am going to jump at the chance to not only visit my brother, but hang out in my old house with my school friends, which whom I’ve shared some great times with. The only real explanation I can come up with is that I miss the days when I only had to be a partially responsible adult. But I’m cutting back on visits since I don’t have a job yet and beer pong/flip cup/dance party routine is getting a bit played out (I still make the best party mixes though).

Speaking of not having a job… I don’t have a job. I applied for unemployment benefits, and the government sent me a nice big check for $0.00. It was highly unlikely that I’d receive any but it was worth a shot. I do have a very good chance getting the reporter position at The Coast Star though. I should get an answer from them within a day or too, pending how much they liked the practice article I wrote. I will say that if I don’t get this job, then it’ll become clear that I am a horrible English major. Having wrote for two newspapers, and edited one of them, there should be no excuse for me not to get this job. But in the back of my head I know what my writing weaknesses are, and I’m praying to Jebus Christ that the managing editor notices how baller my AP style skills are first.

On the upside of being unemployed, I’ve managed to catch up on a lot of books that I have been meaning to read. I just finished Catcher in the Rye and I’m going to read The Road next, followed by Slaughterhouse Five and then either The Stranger or IV: A Decade of Curious People and Dangerous Ideas (not a classic, I know, but I loves me some Klosterman).

Of all the English majors that I know, I can almost bet that I’ve read the least amount of books. I never had time to read in college, considering all of the writing I’ve had to do for my degree and the fact that I was and still am an internet junkie. I do feel like I’m getting smarter after all the reading I did this summer though… and I think it’s made something like this ten times funnier, even if it makes me want to also drop kick every 15-year-old girl in the country.

Bonus!

Hey MTV, this is what a good rap video looks like.

They should make up a new category for this, maybe “Best use of Bitches in a Video”.

Leave a comment

Filed under random

Leave a Reply

