sick sick sick

For those who didn’t know, I took a trip to the ER two weeks ago with a really intense cough. I was coughing nonstop for week before it got to the point where I couldn’t breathe, and I had to drive myself to the hospital at 3 in the morning on Super Bowl Sunday. The doctor took some x-rays and apparently my left lung was swollen and had some fluid in it. They prescribed an inhaler, anti-inflammation pills, and some antibiotics and sent me on my way. Fortunately, I got back in time to watch the Giants ruin Tom Brady’s life. I felt much better a few days later after taking the antibiotics, but then this past Friday I started to feel the symptoms of a head cold coming on. By Sunday, the sinus pressure was unbearable, so I went to the doctor down in Freehold. Apparently,wasn’t so much that I was sick again, but still sick with what I had weeks prior. I have some serious walking pneumonia. Well he not only gave me antibiotics to take longer, but they’re twice as strong as the ones the hospital prescribed, so hopefully I’ll be 100% better by next week.

The Keystone isn’t helping my health either. I was there until 3:30 this morning trying to finish an article that only came to about 320 words. That shit was hard, and it shouldn’t have been. Something tells me I am going to make a shitty journalist, what with all the intricate details of the story and the deadlines and the fact that it takes me hours to get even the most pedestrian of papers done. Even though I stayed that late, I still got yelled at because I forgot to edit the first sentence (it was a run on). I’m usually careful about editing, but when you start an article at 1 in the morning and you’re sick, you just want to get the story over with. I’ll have to try harder next time.

Even better, with my buddy Dale, the news editor, quitting because the school won’t pay us (long story, will write about it when I have more time), I am the de facto editor until we can find a replacement… which better be damn soon. I probably have less time to be the full fledged news editor than he does, and I’m not looking to add any more stress to my life. Did I mention I hit the wall after 300 words?

Whatever. This week needs to end.

Leave a comment

Filed under complaining, lol

Leave a Reply

